Faculty Council

Mignonne Guy, Carolina Yaber, and Charlene Crawley
Faculty Council elects new leadership for 2019-20
Three faculty members were elected to fill the roles of president, secretary and parliamentarian.
students sitting on the terrace of the library near Hibbs Hall
Voting results for CHS bylaws and P&T guidelines
In the spring, CHS faculty voted on a series of amendments to the College's bylaws, as well as to its promotion and tenure guidelines.

The Faculty Council represents the faculty of the College and serves as an advisory to the dean on issues of concern to the faculty, such as graduate and undergraduate curricula, programs, evaluation and improvement of instruction, information technology, awards and honors, tenure and promotion, the faculty bylaws and teaching and research grants.

Christopher Burdett, Department of Political Science
clburdett@vcu.edu
Former President

Daniel Cranston, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
dcranston@vcu.edu

Charlene Crawley, Interdisciplinary Science Program and Department of Chemistry
cdcrawle@vcu.edu
Parliamentarian 2019-20

Christine Cynn, Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
cjcynn@vcu.edu

Mignonne Guy, Department of African American Studies
mguy@vcu.edu
President for 2019-20

Michael Hall, Department of English
mrhall@vcu.edu

Robert Gains, Department of Military Science and Leadership
rhgains@vcu.edu

Bizhan Khodabandeh, Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture
bkhodabandeh@vcu.edu

Peter Kirkpatrick, School of World Studies, Liberal Studies for Early and Elementary Education
pkirk@vcu.edu
Technology Representative

Gabriela León-Pérez, Department of Sociology
gleonperez@vcu.edu

Anette Loughran-Fjelstad, Department of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
asfjeldstad@vcu.edu     

Joseph Reiner, Department of Physics
jereiner@vcu.edu

Baneshwar Singh, Department of Forensic Science
bsingh@vcu.edu

Ryan Smith, Department of History
rksmith3@vcu.edu

Scott Street, Department of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research
wsstreet@vcu.edu
Faculty Senate Representative

Mikhail Valdman, Department of Philosophy
mvaldman@vcu.edu

Marcia Winter, Department of Psychology
mawinter@vcu.edu

Maria Carolina Yáber, Department of Biology
mcyaber@vcu.edu
Secretary for 2019-20

Angela Reynolds, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
areynolds2@vcu.edu
GAC Representative

Joseph Topich, Department of Chemistry
jtopich@vcu.edu
UAC Representative

Jennifer Clayton, Department of Political Science
claytonja@vcu.edu
Staff Council Representative

Amy Rector, School of World Studies
alrector@vcu.edu
Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Representative

All meetings are held from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Hibbs 308.

For 2019-20:

August 26
September 16
October 21
November 18
December 16
January 27
February 17
March 16 (nominations)
April 20 (elections)
May 11 (tentative)

2019-20 Guidelines

Faculty Council Research and Professional Development Grants support opportunities that promote the research and teaching missions of the College. Faculty Council awards are intended to cover costs associated with research and professional development. These costs may include travel to archives or conferences, associated lodging and meals, research, as well as data collection and reproduction fees. (Travel funding requests must comply with university guidelines, as delineated by the Office of Procurement Services.)

The maximum value of a Research and Professional Development Grant is $1,000, for use between the announcement of the award and June 30, 2020. All full-time faculty in the College of Humanities and Sciences may apply. Preference will be given to candidates whose funded work will

  • make a positive difference in the field and/or the classroom
  • feasibly lead to future external funding
  • be completed prior to the end of the academic year

In addition, the decision committee will prioritize applicants who demonstrate a clear need, and who have not previously received funding through a Faculty Council award.

Applications are due electronically by 5:00 p.m. on November 19, 2019 at the link below. A complete application must include the completed application form (link below) and the following documents merged into a single PDF:

  • A detailed proposal no longer than two single-spaced pages. The proposal should be written for a broad audience, and must address
    • the objective(s) and methods of the project or professional development opportunity
    • the location where work will be conducted, including why the location is integral to advancing/completing the project or contributing to professional development (if applicable)
    • the impact the project will have on the candidate’s career development
    • the impact the project will have on the candidate’s field as well as the College of Humanities and Sciences at VCU
  • A current curriculum vitae
  • A completed budget form (see template distributed via email from thecollege@vcu.edu on 10/30/19).
  • A statement addressing any current and previous funding for the project (if applicable). If the candidate has previously received funding from the Faculty Council, then the statement must also address progress made on the project as a result of that funding (e.g., publications, conference presentations, invited talks).

A peer committee will conduct a review and announce the grant awards by December 9. Recipients will have until June 30, 2020, to use these funds. Instructions on disbursement will accompany notification of the award.

Please submit any questions to the president of the CHS Faculty Council, Mignonne Guy, Ph.D., at mguy@vcu.edu.