Graduate academic committee

The Graduate academic committee shall be concerned with graduate admission requirements, degree requirements, academic standards, curriculum development, the establishment of new graduate courses and programs and the abolition of existing ones, and other matters relating to the graduate programs in the College of Humanities and Sciences.

It should establish regular communication with the university graduate council and will report in writing their activities to the president of the faculty council on a monthly basis.

The committee shall be composed of one member elected from each department, school and interdisciplinary program that has a graduate program, one graduate student in the College nominated by the student government association and alternate, and one chosen by the committee on administration. The dean or the dean’s designee shall serve as an ex officio member of this committee. The chairperson will be elected by the committee for a one-year term; nominees will include all tenured faculty on the committee.

  • James ‘Clint’ Turbeville (Biology – MS)
  • Nick Farrell (Chemical Biology – PhD)
  • Julio Alvarez (Chemistry – PhD, MS)
  • David Wojahn (Creative Writing – MFA)
  • Les Harrison (English – MA)
  • Sarah Seashols-Williams (Forensic Science – MS)
  • Emilie Raymond (History – CPG, MA)
  • Ronald Evans (Kinesiology & Health Sciences – PhD, MS, CPG)
  • June Nicholson (Mass Communications – MS)
  • David Edwards (Mathematical Sciences – MS)
  • Eric Garberson (Media, Art & Text – PhD)
  • Massimo Bertino, Everett Carpenter (Nanoscience & Nanotechnology – PhD)
  • Michael Reshchikov (Physics – MS)
  • Zewelanji ‘Zewe’ Serpell (Psychology – PhD)
  • Angela Reynolds – Committee Chair, (Systems Modeling & Analysis – PhD)
  • Tara Stamm (Sociology – MS, CPG)

Ad-hoc members:

  • Ed Acevedo (Dean’s Office)
  • Julio Alvarez (Chemistry) – University graduate council representative
  • Rebecca Segal (Mathematical Sciences) – University graduate council representative