Undergraduate academic committee

The undergraduate academic committee (UAC), in collaboration with the university undergraduate curriculum committee (UUCC), is responsible for maintaining guidelines regarding degree requirements, academic standards, curriculum development and other undergraduate academic program matters in the College. UAC also addresses new rules, or changes in the rules, affecting the academic status of undergraduate students in the College, including admissions policies, academic advising, degree requirements and grades.

All changes in any course or program description within the College, no matter how minor, are to be submitted to UAC for approval including:

  • Revision of curriculum outlines
  • Revision of existing courses, including changes in course descriptions
  • Course deletions
  • Changes in descriptive statements of programs
  • New courses
  • New and revised minors
  • New and revised programs
  • New and revised majors
  • New and revised concentrations

UAC also monitors topics courses, independent studies, general education requirements and the classification of honors modules.

UAC typically meets from 2-4 p.m. on the first Friday of the month during the academic year. If there are items of business that have not been completed at the end of the scheduled meeting, the committee will continue to meet each Friday in succession until all agenda items are completed.

UAC is made up of one representative from each department and school in the College who is elected for a two-year term. The chair is elected by the committee for a one-year term from among all tenured faculty on the committee.

Members of UAC for the 2015-16 academic year include the following individuals, and any necessary changes will be made as they become known:

  • Adam Ewing (African American Studies)
  • Dianne Jennings (Biology)
  • Joe Topich (Chemistry)
  • Gretchen Comba (English)
  • Catherine Connon (Forensic Science)
  • Archana Pathak (Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies)
  • Leigh Ann Craig (History)
  • Michael Pyles (Kinesiology and Health Sciences)
  • Ghidewon Abay-Asmerom (Mathematics and Applied Mathematics)
  • Jeff South (Media and Culture)
  • Ken Akiba (Philosophy)
  • Marilyn Bishop (Physics)
  • Douglas Kimemia (Political Science)
  • Linda Zyzniewski (Psychology)
  • Christine Mowery (Sociology)
  • Scott Street (Statistical Sciences and Operations Research)
  • Cinzia Corubolo (World School)
  • TBD (student member)
  • TBD (student member)
  • James Mays (associate dean)
  • Kate Nash (assistant dean)