Graduate Academic Committee

The Graduate academic committee shall be concerned with graduate admission requirements, degree requirements, academic standards, curriculum development, the establishment of new graduate courses and programs and the abolition of existing ones, and other matters relating to the graduate programs in the College of Humanities and Sciences.

It should establish regular communication with the university graduate council and will report in writing their activities to the president of the faculty council on a monthly basis.

The committee shall be composed of one member elected from each department, school and interdisciplinary program that has a graduate program, one graduate student in the College nominated by the student government association and alternate, and one chosen by the committee on administration. The dean or the dean’s designee shall serve as an ex officio member of this committee. The chairperson will be elected by the committee for a one-year term; nominees will include all tenured faculty on the committee.

  • Maria Rivera (Biology – MS)
  • Nick Farrell (Chemical Biology – PhD)
  • Julio Alvarez (Chemistry – PhD, MS)
  • David Wojahn (Creative Writing – MFA)
  • Jenny Ree (English – MA)
  • Sarah Seashols-Williams (Forensic Science – MS)
  • Elizabeth Canfield (Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies – MS)
  • Emilie Raymond (History – CPG, MA)
  • Annette Loughran-Fjeldstad (Kinesiology and Health Sciences – PhD, MS, CPG)
  • Karen McIntyre (Mass Communications – MS)
  • Aimee Ellington (Mathematical Sciences – MIS)
  • Marco Aldi (Mathematical Sciences – MS)
  • Ed Boone (Mathematical Sciences – MS)
  • Oliver Speck (Media, Art and Text – PhD)
  • Massimo Bertino (Nanoscience and Nanotechnology – PhD)
  • Michael Reshchikov (Physics – MS)
  • Terri Sullivan (Psychology – PhD)
  • Angela Reynolds (Systems Modeling and Analysis – PhD)
  • Meredith Katz (Sociology – MS, CPG)
  • Everett Carpenter, committee chair (Nanoscience and Nanotechnology – PhD)

Ad-hoc members:

  • Aja Johnson (Dean’s Office)
  • D'Arcy Mays (Dean's Office)

Meetings are typically held on the third Friday of each month.