Eminent Scholars Program

The College of Humanities and Sciences Eminent Scholars Program serves to recognize mid-career scholars among our faculty and reward them for their scholarly contributions to their discipline, the College and the university. Traditional forms of scholarship are of primary consideration for this award, although alternate, more contemporary forms will be considered. The award recognizes, with financial support, the excellent scholarship conducted by our faculty.

Eligible faculty must hold tenure at the associate or full professor level, and full professors must be within the first three years of achieving the rank of professor. The financial compensation for this award is a $5,000 salary supplement per year for five consecutive years (a total award of $25,000). The recipient will hold the title of “CHS Eminent Scholar.” A faculty member can be awarded the CHS Eminent Scholar Award only once.

All applications are submitted through a self-nomination process. There is no limit on the number of nominations from each unit in the CHS.

The nomination packet must include a CV, a two-page statement summarizing scholarship and impact to date and providing a five-year research/scholarly plan uploaded as a single pdf to this Google form. Similar to the scholarship required of tenure-track faculty, the statement of scholarship should emphasize research/scholarly productivity, creative works, external funding, and nationally or internationally recognized publications, books and presentations. The research plan should describe the nominee’s planned research focus during the five-year award period, list specific goals for scholarly achievements and provide a timeline for accomplishing those goals. Department chairs/school directors will be asked by the ADR to provide feedback on each self-nomination. Forms completed by department chairs/school directors will be submitted separately and will not be shared.

For 2020, materials are due on May 15, with award recipients selected and notified by July 1. The selection committee will consist of members of the advisory board to the CHS associate dean of research. The committee will evaluate the research/scholarly contributions of the nominee, the nominee's five-year plan, and the input provided by the unit chair/director. One faculty member will be selected this year.


  • Amanda Dickinson, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Biology
  • Kathleen Graber, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of English
  • Gregory Smithers, Ph.D., professor in the Department of History


  • Robin Everhart, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Psychology
  • Marcus Messner, Ph.D., associate professor and associate director of the Robertson School of Media and Culture
  • Jason Reed, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Physics